One Long Journey. One Last Stop.

Click to Play: Texas (When I Die) by Ed Bruce

I left Texas 15 years ago and I’ve been homesick ever since. Wings of fate in a flurry of hate carried me to South Florida, where I’ve hung my skull cap for over 13 years.

It’s been a long, hard run. Now the run’s almost done. It’s time for me to go home. Like Ed Bruce says:

“My body’s here, but my soul’s in San Antone…”

)(

TEXAS (WHEN I DIE)

When I die, I may not go to heaven;
I don’t know if they let cowboys in.
If they don’t, just let me go to Texas;
‘Cause Texas is as close as I’ve been.

New York couldn’t hold my attention;
Detroit City could not sing my song.
If tomorrow finds me busted flat in Dallas;
I won’t care, ’cause at least I’ll know I’m home.

When I die, I may not go to heaven;
I don’t know if they let cowboys in.
If they don’t, just let me go to Texas;
‘Cause Texas is as close as I’ve been.

I’d ride through all of Hell and half of Texas,
Just to hear some steel guitar and a cowboy song.
The beer just ain’t as cold in old Milwaukee;
My body’s here, but my soul’s in San Antone.

When I die, I may not go to heaven;
I don’t know if they let cowboys in.
If they don’t, just let me go to Texas;
‘Cause Texas is as close as I’ve been.

— Ed Bruce

)(

ONE LONG JOURNEY. ONE LAST STOP.

Leave a Reply

